Do you know a female faculty member who deserves recognition for positive contributions and service to S&T and the lives of women on campus?

Woman of the Year is an honor given to a female faculty member (full-time tenured or tenure track) dedicated to student education and committed to diversity.

Please join us to honor this years recipient at the Hasselmann Alumni House on April 9, 2025 from Noon- 1:30 pm for the presentation of the award and reception.

Submit a Nomination

Please don’t miss this opportunity to honor a female faculty member.


Nominations are closed.

Woman of the Year is an honor given to a female faculty member dedicated to student education and committed to diversity.

Nominees should demonstrate these qualities or qualifications: 

  • Is a female faculty member (full-time tenured or tenure track)
  • Exemplifies the abilities and qualities that improve the campus climate for women through all elements of the university community
  • Serves as a role model by:
    • Work on issues that affect the quality of women’s lives at Missouri S&T
    • Commitment to student learning
    • Support for diversity
    • Active participation in student and faculty mentoring
    • Achievements in her professional field
    • Willingness to speak out on issues that affect the quality of women’s lives at Missouri S&T

The nominator is responsible for informing the nominee of their nomination and must solicit and collect up to five letters of support for the nominee.

The nominator should submit the following documents using the online form, being sure to highlight the ways in which the nominee meets the above criteria.

  • A letter of nomination
  • Letter(s) of support for the nomination (up to 5)
  • A CV from the nominee

A person may only be nominated one time each year. If multiple nominations are received for the same person, the person submitting the second nomination of a candidate will be notified.

*Please note self-nomination will not be accepted.

Nominations will only be considered once all required information has been received and are due by 8:00am on Monday, March 11, 2024.


If you have questions about the nomination process, you may contact the committee chairperson, Dr. Amber Henslee, at 573-341-7289 or

The award is funded by Missouri S&T alumna and Board of Trustees member Cindy Tang, Econ,’85. Thanks to her generosity, each recipient of the Woman of the Year Award receives professional development funds and a personal gift. Learn more about Ms. Tang.

In 2016, Cindy Tang established the Dr. Elizabeth Cummins Women’s Advocate Award in honor of one of her mentors. Cummins, a professor emerita and former chair of English and technical communication, was named Missouri S&T’s first Woman of the Year in 1997. 

Dr. Mary Reidmeyer, CerE’78, MS CerE’84, PhD CerE’89, teaching professor of ceramic engineering and outreach coordinator in materials science and engineering at Missouri S&T, is the inaugural recipient of the Dr. Elizabeth Cummins Women’s Advocate Award. 

The award is given to any Missouri S&T employee, regardless of gender or job designation, that demonstrates commitment to the women on campus through mentorship and advocacy and by setting an example through professional achievement. The award includes a stipend to fund professional development.

Latest Award Recipient

Beth Kania-Gosche

Beth Kania-Gosche

Beth Kania-Gosche joined the university in 2019 as the founding chair of the education department. Prior to joining Missouri S&T, she served as professor and associate dean of the school of education at Lindenwood University in Saint Charles, Missouri.

Read more


Past Woman of the Year Recipents

  • Catherine Johnson 2023
  • Gayla Olbricht, 2022
  • Katherine Grote, 2021
  • Amber Henslee, 2020
  • Kathleen Sheppard, 2019
  • Kathryn Northcut, 2018
  • Audra Merfeld-Langston, 2017
  • Suzanna Long, 2016
  • Dan Lin, 2015
  • Shannon Fogg, 2014
  • Barbara Hale, 2013
  • Irina Ivliyeva, 2012
  • Diana Ahmad, 2011
  • Kimberly Henthorn, 2010
  • Kate Drowne, 2009
  • Melanie Mormile, 2008
  • Jennifer Leopold, 2007
  • Kristine Swenson, 2006
  • Frances Montgomery, 2005
  • Francisca Oboh-Ikuenobe, 2004
  • Nuran Ercal, 2003
  • Mariesa Crow, 2002
  • Carol Ann Smith, 2001
  • Susan Murray, 2000
  • Paula Lutz, 1999
  • Catherine Riordan, 1998
  • Elizabeth Cummins, 1997