Faculty Recruitment & Retention Council (FRRC)

In 2006, Chancellor John F. Carney III formed the Female and Underrepresented Minority Faculty Recruiting and Retention Task Force (FUMFRR). In light of the successes of the FUMFRR Task Force, Chancellor Cheryl B. Schrader envisioned a new direction for the group to include a new name and a new charge.  In August of 2015, FUMFRR became the Faculty Retention and Recruitment Council (FRRC) with the following charge:

"To provide advice and counsel to campus leadership on strategies related to faculty diversity and improvement of campus climate."

Since its inception, FRRC has achieved many of the originally established charges.  The major accomplishments include:

  • Changes to the FMLA policy that allowed extension of the tenure clock insuring that female faculty would not be penalized or need to make up time taken off for family and medical matters.  The University of Missouri System incorporated many of the ideas from the Task Force into their Collected Rules and Regulations.
  • Completion of the Women's survey that encompassed all female professors (all ranks), lecturers and instructors.  The top four responses continue to guide the Task Force on their mission.
  • Two surveys were completed assessing the need for child care, 2007 and 2009.
  • Completion of the Faculty Center located in 104 Interdisciplinary Engineering.  For more information about the Faculty Center, or to reserve the room, please click here

FUMFRR Group Shot

FRRC has numerous ongoing initiatives that include:

  • Continuing the pursuit of a Childcare Center for S&T faculty and staff.
  • Submission of an NSF ADVANCE grant that proposes a comprehensive plan to increase the participation and advancement of women faculty in Science, Technology, Engineering and Math (STEM).
  • Investigating the possibility of a shuttle service between Rolla and St. Louis through a survey to access the interest and need.
  • Hosting New Faculty Welcomes every semester.
  • Continuing the pursuit of Recruitment of minority faculty.
  • Researching strategies for retention of female faculty.
  • Working with Human Resources on salary equity issues for faculty on the S&T campus.

The Faculty Recruitment and Retention Council consists of the following members:

Stephen Roberts, Interim Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs
stephen.roberts@mst.edu

Daniel Forciniti, Associate Provost for Faculty Affairs
forcinit@mst.edu

Douglas Bristow, Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering
dbristow@mst.edu

Richard Brow, Materials Science & Engineering
brow@mst.edu

Joel Burken, Civil, Architectural & Environmental Engineering
burken@mst.edu

Carlos Castano, Mining & Nuclear Engineering
castanoc@mst.edu

Garry Grubbs, Chemistry
grubbsg@mst.edu

Irina Ivliyeva, Arts, Languages & Philosophy
ivliyeva@mst.edu

Merilee Krueger, Psychological Science
krueger@mst.edu

Bih-Ru Lea, Business & Information Technology
leabi@mst.edu

Francisca Oboh-Ikuenobe, Geosciences & Geological & Petroleum Engineering
ikuenobe@mst.edu

Sahra Sedigh Sarvestani, Electrical & Computer Engineering
sedighs@mst.edu

V. A. Samaranayake, Mathematics & Statistics
vsam@mst.edu

Ex-Officio Members:

Neil Outar, Chief Diversity Officer
naoutar@mst.edu

Rhonda Byers, Human Resources
byersrf@mst.edu

Sarah Johnson, Office of the Provost
johsarah@mst.edu