Faculty Recruitment & Retention Council

In 2006, Chancellor John F. Carney III formed the Female and Underrepresented Minority Faculty Recruiting and Retention Task Force (FUMFRR). In light of the successes of the FUMFRR Task Force, Chancellor Cheryl B. Schrader envisioned a new direction for the group to include a new name and a new charge.

Council Charge

In August of 2015, FUMFRR became the Faculty Retention and Recruitment Council (FRRC) with the following charge:

"To provide advice and counsel to campus leadership on strategies related to faculty diversity and improvement of campus climate."

Action Suggestion Form

The Faculty Retention and Recruitment Council (FRRC) invites you to provide actionable suggestions to improve campus climate while remaining anonymous. Together, we can create an S&T climate that is more amenable to the recruitment and retention of faculty members.

Submit Form


Ongoing Initiatives

  • Continuing the pursuit of a Childcare Center for S&T faculty and staff.
  • Submission of an NSF ADVANCE grant that proposes a comprehensive plan to increase the participation and advancement of women faculty in Science, Technology, Engineering and Math (STEM).
  • Investigating the possibility of a shuttle service between Rolla and St. Louis through a survey to access the interest and need.
  • Hosting New Faculty Welcomes every semester.
  • Continuing the pursuit of Recruitment of minority faculty.
  • Researching strategies for retention of female faculty.
  • Working with Human Resources on salary equity issues for faculty on the S&T campus.

Council Members

Colin Potts
Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs

Daniel Forciniti
Associate Provost for Faculty Affairs

Douglas Bristow
Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering

Richard Brow
Materials Science & Engineering

Joel Burken
Civil, Architectural & Environmental Engineering

Carlos Castano
Mining & Nuclear Engineering

Garry Grubbs

Irina Ivliyeva
Arts, Languages & Philosophy

Merilee Krueger
Psychological Science

Bih-Ru Lea
Business & Information Technology

Sahra Sedigh Sarvestani
Electrical & Computer Engineering

V.A. Samaranayake
Mathematics & Statistics

Ex-Officio Members

Anitra Rivera
Diversity, Equity & Inclusion

Cindi Nelson
Human Resources

Sarah Johnson
Office of the Provost