Skip to department navigation
Skip to content
Skip to global navigation
provost » provost.mst.edu » fumfrr
Female & Underrepresented Minority Faculty Recruiting & Retention Task Force (FUMFRR)

In 2006, the Task Force was given a Task Force Charge by Chancellor John F. Carney III.  Since its inception, FUMFRR has achieved many of the established charges.  The major accomplishments include:

  • Changes to the FMLA policy that allowed extension of the tenure clock insuring that female faculty would not be penalized or need to make up time taken off for family and medical matters.  The University of Missouri System incorporated many of the ideas from the Task Force into their Collected Rules and Regulations.
  • Completion of the Women's survey that encompassed all female professors (all ranks), lecturers and instructors.  The top four responses continue to guide the Task Force on their mission.
  • Two surveys were completed assessing the need for child care, 2007 and 2009.
  • Completion of the Faculty Center located in 104 Interdisciplinary Engineering.  For more information about the Faculty Center, or to reserve the room, please click here .

 

FUMFRR Group Shot

Grand Opening of the Faculty Center, February 9, 2011

 

 

FUMFRR has numerous ongoing initiatives that include:

  • Continuing the pursuit of a Childcare Center for S&T faculty and staff.
  • Submission of an NSF ADVANCE grant that proposes a comprehensive plan to increase the participation and advancement of women faculty in Science, Technology, Engineering and Math (STEM).
  • Investigating the possibility of a shuttle service between Rolla and St. Louis through a survey to access the interest and need.
  • Hosting New Faculty Welcomes every semester.
  • Continuing the pursuit of Recruitment of minority faculty.
  • Researching strategies for retention of female faculty.
  • Working with Human Resources on salary equity issues for faculty on the S&T campus.

The FUMFRR Task Force meets during the academic year on every second and fourth Monday of the month in 216 Parker Hall. The Task Force consists of the following members:

Robert Marley, Provost, marleyr@mst.edu

Richard Brow, Curators' Professor, Materials Sicence & Engineering, brow@mst.edu

Carlos Castano, Assistant Professor of Mining & Nuclear Engineering, castanoc@mst.edu

Mariesa Crow, Finley Professor of Electrical Engineering, crow@mst.edu

Frances Haemmerlie Montgomery, Curators' Professor, Psychological Sciences, berner@mst.edu

Irina Ivliyeva, Assistant Professor, Arts, Languages & Philosophy, ivliyeva@mst.edu

Merilee Krueger, Lecturer, Psychological Sciences, krueger@mst.edu

Bih-Ru Lea, Associate Professor, Business & Information Technology, leabi@mst.edu

Francisca Oboh-Ikuenobe, Professor, Geological Sciences, ikuenobe@mst.edu

Sahra Sedigh Sarvestani, Assistant Professor, Electrical Engineering, sedighs@mst.edu

UM System Representative:  Deborah Noble-Triplett, Assistant VP Academic Affairs, nobled@umsystem.edu

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Upcoming Events and Announcements

Faculty Social and Welcome Event

The campus faculty and administrators are invited to attend the Faculty Social and Welcome Event, 4-pm, Tuesday, September 9, 2014 in the St. Pat's A, Havener Center.  Come meet the new faculty, mingle with colleagues, and make new connections.  The event is sponsored by the Female & Underrepresented Minority Faculty Recruiting & Retention Task Force (FUMFRR).

 

Suggestion Box for FUMFRR Committee
We would like to hear your suggestions:

  generate print-friendly